CBT Board of Directors

The Clayoquot Biosphere Trust (CBT) relies on the vision and strategic direction of a committed Board of Directors representing a diversity of experience, skills and interests supportive of the Clayoquot Sound UNESCO Biosphere Region designation.

The Board of Directors is comprised of appointments from Hesquiaht, Ahousaht, Tla-o-qui-aht, Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ and Toquaht First Nations, a representative from the District of Tofino, District of Ucluelet and the Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District Area C, as well as two At-large Directors. The Directors represent the CBT and its mandate to their individual communities.


Tammy Dorward (Co-chair)

Ms. Dorward is the representative of the Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations and is the co-chair of the CBT Executive Committee. Tammy has a BA and a MA in criminology, both from SFU. During her studies, Tammy focused on Aboriginal Justice. Her professional life has taken her to several provinces in Canada with her work largely focused on education. This includes teaching, research, and policy development. Tammy is currently the Education Coordinator for the Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations.

Tammy grew up on Vancouver Island and is keenly involved in the activities of her family and community. She feels it is important for an education system to be built upon the cultural, linguistic and traditional philosophies of the people it aims to reach. During the 2013 Canoe Journey, she travelled with her family and community members from Tla-o-qui-aht to the traditional territory of the Quinault people.



Cathy Thicke (Co-chair)

Mrs. Thicke is the Tofino representative to the CBT Board of Directors and is the co-chair of the CBT Executive Committee. Cathy also serves on the District of Tofino council.  She has a BSc in Kinesiology and a MA in Tourism Management. Her thesis focused on the feasibility of a higher learning centre in Tofino as a means to foster economic resilience in the region. She continues to pursue this interest through the Tla-o-qui-aht-Tofino Higher Learning initiative.

Cathy has had a life-long interest in well-being and has worked as a fitness consultant and physical education teacher. She was also a member of the Tofino Recreation Commission that initiated the multi-use path. Recently, she wrote a cultural tourism plan for Clayoquot and Barkley Sounds.  Her role as a district councillor and a CBT board member fulfills Cathy’s enthusiasm for building strong community relationships throughout the region.


Alan McCarthy (Secretary)

Mr. McCarthy is the representative for Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ and is the secretary on the CBT Executive Committee. Much of his working career has been in the resource industry, in both fisheries and forestry, and he is currently employed as the Fisheries and Wildlife Resource Officer for the Ucluth Fisheries.

As a member of the first post-treaty government, Alan serves as a member of the Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ Legislature and is responsible for overseeing the land and resources portfolio. He is also the Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ representative to the Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District where he sits on a subcommittee that deals with planning issues specific to the west coast. He was part of the team that collaborated on the tool kit, A Path Forward, a resource guide to support local governments and treaty First Nations.



Anne Mack

Chief Mack is the representative for the Toquaht Nation.  Anne has a BA in sociology and anthropology from Simon Fraser University, with a minor in linguistics. Anne has worked with her nation for over a decade, and, with her father beside her, witnessed the signing of the Maanulth Treaty on April 01, 2011.  Anne leads her community with a vision to “bring people home to a land that can sustain them.”

In January 2009, Anne was traditionally seated by her father, Deets-kee-sup (Chief Bert Mack), to become hereditary chief of her nation. She works closely with second hereditary chief, Kevin Mack, and three elected citizens of council that form the Toquaht government.



Geoff Lyons

Mr. Lyons is the Ucluelet representative to the CBT board. He also has served as a councillor for the District of Ucluelet. Geoff worked as an accountant with MacMillan-Bloedel for more than two decades, followed by time as a controller with the Ahousaht First Nation and as CAO and treasurer for the District of Ucluelet. During that time he also helped create the Ucluelet Economic Development Corporation.

Although Geoff is now retired, he keeps busy as a soccer referee and sits on the boards of many non-profit, including the Uculelet Aquarium, the Food Bank on the Edge, the Ucluelet and Area Historical Society, and Central Westcoast Forest Society.



Hannah Nicholls

Ms. Nicholls is a director-at-large to the CBT board. She was raised on the Oregon coast, in Depoe Bay, a small town just south of the Cascade Head Biosphere Region. Instilled with an enthusiasm for wilderness and surfing in her upbringing, Hannah melded this passion with her post-secondary education, pursuing a BSc in Environmental Science with a focus on marine biology. She first came to Tofino on a surf trip, and eventually decided to make Canada her permanent home.

At present, Hannah works in the hospitality industry and volunteers for the Alliance for Climate Education, which creates educational resources on climate change.  She also volunteers for community events and with projects of the Central Westcoast Forest Society. Hannah feels strongly that volunteer service is the perfect way to be meaningfully involved in one’s community.

Ashley Hawker

Ms. Hawker is the Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District representative to the CBT

Ariane Batic

Ms. Batic is a director-at-large to the CBT board.

Tom Campbell

Tom Campbell is the Ahousaht First Nation Council representative to the CBT.

Ruth Charleson

Ruth Charleson is the Hesquiaht First Nation Council representative to the CBT.

Alternate Directors

The CBT is also grateful for the Alternate Directors who play an important role in supporting the proper governing of the Society and step in when a Director is absent.

Albert Taylor
Alternate Director for the Yuułuʔiłʔatḥ Government.

Naomi Mack
Alternate Director for the Toquaht First Nation.

Terry Dorward
Alternate Director for the Tla-o-qui-aht First Nation.

Mark Jack
Alternate Director for the Ahousaht First Nation.

Rochelle Cole
Alternate Director for the District of Ucluelet.

Rachael O’Callahan

Alternate Director for the Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District.

Stephanie Charleson
Alternate Director for the Hesquiaht First Nation Council

Nora Morrison 

Alternate Director for the District of Tofino. 


The CBT also appreciates the commitment and dedication of its non-voting Board Advisers:

Kendall Woo and Tracy Parker (Alternate): Environment Canada

Lauren Brown and Denise Koshowski (Alternate): Department of Fisheries and Oceans

Rene Wissink and Arlene Armstrong (Alternate): Parks Canada

Rhonda Morris and Mary Toews (Alternate): Province of British Columbia