CLAYOQUOT BIOSPHERE TRUST BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING DRAFT MINUTES

Thursday, June 18, 2020 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. By video conference

Present: Ruth Charleson, Cathy Thicke, Mary Toews, Tammy Dorward, Anne Mack,

Ariane Batic, Elyse Goatcher-Bergmann, Hannah Nicholls, Geoff Lyons,

Mike Davis, Nicky Ling, Nora Morrison, Tom Campbell

Staff: Rebecca Hurwitz, Brett Freake, Laura Loucks, Brooke Wood, Colin

Robinson, Nicole Gerbrandt

Nuu-chah-nulth word of the meeting: Tammy shared the word ?apsčikmaḥsas which means, "I want to say it right." She expressed her hope that the words spoken today are true and that we move forward in a good way.

Policy of the meeting: Policies relevant to the Vital Grants application were enclosed.

1. Welcome and Introductions

Tammy called the meeting to order.

2. Consent Agenda

- a. Approval of the agenda
- b. Board of Directors meeting minutes May 29, 2020
- c. Executive Committee meeting minutes June 11, 2020
- d. Correspondence: Ben Eggers re: Olsen Road development June 4, 2020
- e. Correspondence: Certified Resolution NO. 160/20 District of Tofino Council Meeting 2020-05-26

Motion to receive the appointment of Mike Davis as director appointed by the District of Tofino effective July 24, 2020 carried by consensus.

Motion to approve the consent agenda carried by consensus.

3. Director updates

Directors provided brief updates on items that relate to the CBT.

4. 2020 Vital Grant Recommendation

Following presentation from Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations and partners at the past meeting, the Board further considered the request and the remaining 2020 Vital Grant recommendation.

Cathy opened the discussion by noting that over the past several weeks many board members have given the decision significant thought and focused on learning and expanding their perspectives. She noted COVID-19 and the global dialogue on racism and social justice as key parts of the context in which the board is making its decisions today. Tammy thanked the group for the effort put forth by all members and noted that the process so far has shown the need for further conversations about reconciliation, an equitable tourism economy, and First Nations management of territory.

Board members shared their perspectives about the grant application. Rebecca summarized conversations she had with CBT advisors from the federal (Kendall Woo at Environment and Climate Change Canada; Dave Tovell at Parks Canada) and the provincial (Rhonda Morris at the Ministry of Forests, Lands and Natural Resources) governments, noting that neither office found reason for the CBT board not to support the application. Mary Toews of FLNRO further elaborated on the provincial ministry and how Tribal Parks can align with and complement existing land management regimes.

The board explored the complexity of the concept of reconciliation and the different ways Nations pursue management of their territory. Board members discussed logistics and timing of a 1% fee mentioned in the application and whether CBT should be directly supporting efforts to collect fees at this time. Board members came to the consensus that the core focus of the application is on facilitating community dialogue about these difficult concepts, specifically an equitable tourism economy; and the board's long and layered discussion is a great example of why this dialogue is so needed at the broader community level. The board agreed to fund the project but request that Tribal Parks Allies remove the mention of the 1% fee from the project description and ensure that community engagement facilitated by the project happens at a regional level. The board also expressed their interest in participating.

Motion: to approve the Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations Vital Grant application as recommended by the advisory committee subject to removal from project description reference to the 1% contributory service fee and subject to including all communities in the region and CBT board members to partake in education components carried by consensus.

5. 2020 Education Award Recommendations

Rebecca presented the 2020 Education Award recommendations on behalf of the Executive Committee, as well as a short summary of the review process.

This year seven applications were received and Brett assessed all applications against the eligibility criteria. The Education Award committee then reviewed and evaluated applications for well-rounded and community-minded students with satisfactory academic performance. The committee has recommended that Clayoquot Sound Biosphere Region Education Award be awarded to Trinity Clark of Ucluelet Secondary School and the Central Region Nuu-chah-nulth Education Award be awarded to Mark Frank Perry of Maaqtusiis Secondary School in Ahousaht.

Motion to approve the 2020 Education Award recommendations as presented carried by consensus.

The board then discussed continual improvement and updating of the CBT education award policy to enhance inclusivity.

6. Flection of the Officers

In lieu of having a board advisor manage the process, Rebecca assisted with the election of the officers as laid out by CBT legal counsel. She first thanked Tammy and Cathy for their leadership, perseverance, and growth through their roles as co-chairs and noted that an in-person thank-you event will be held toward the end of summer.

Rebecca reviewed the Executive Committee policy and eligibility requirements before directors put forth their names and spoke to the positions they are interested in.

The board elected Hannah Nicholls as treasurer, Ruth Charleson as secretary and Geoff Lyons and Alan McCarthy as co-chairs.

Motion to appoint officers of the Society to hold the offices set out following their name until the close of the next annual general meeting or until others are elected or appointed in their place carried by consensus.

Motion to add Hannah Nicholls and Ruth Charleson as CBT signing authorities, to maintain Geoff Lyons, Alan McCarthy and Rebecca Hurwitz, and to remove Cathy Thicke and Tammy Dorward carried by consensus.

7. Leadership Vancouver Island (LVI) Update

Brooke Wood, LVI coordinator, provided an overview of the 2019 – 2020 program. All 15 participants finished the program, which adapted to an online delivery model due to COVID-19. The participants completed three projects focusing on local health and food

security, youth leadership, and regional volunteerism. She shared the recently produced program video. Rebecca and the board congratulated Brooke on her ability to adaptively lead the program this year and acknowledged that she is a LVI graduate herself.

8. Adjourn

Geoff acknowledged Cathy and Tammy for their years of service, openness and sincerity and affirmed that when possible there will be an in-person thank-you reception.

Rebecca reminded that there will be a short board meeting on the morning of Thursday June 25th focusing on the rezoning submission for 301 Olsen Road.

Motion to adjourn carried by consensus.

The next CBT Board meeting will be held Thursday, June 25th.